National breed conservation Awards 2021 Announced

Pashu Sandesh, 29 December 2021

ICAR- National Bureau of Animal Genetic Resources (ICAR-NBAGR), which is working with the mandate of identification, evaluation, characterization, conservation and utilization of livestock and poultry genetic resources of the country, announced the results of prestigious National breed conservation awards for the year 2021. These awards were announced on Monday 23 December in an online program conducted on the occasion of Farmers Day. The national breed conservation award was established by ICAR-NBAGR and is given in two categories one for indi-viduals and another for institutions, for their contribution towards conservation and propagation of registered Indian breeds of domestic Livestock and Poultry.

In the indi-vidual category the awards were given to M Venketh Reddy from Andhra Pradesh for raring “punganur” breed of cow,  Nandu Ram from Himachal Pradesh for rearing “Gaddi” breed of goat and Prabhu Lal Gurjar from Rajasthan for rearing “Malpura” breed of sheep.

In the institutional category the awards were given to Yagh Purush Gaushala, Sarangpur, Gujarat for conservation of “Gir” breed of cow, ICAR Central Goat Research Institute, Mathura for conservation of “Muzaffarnagri” breed of sheep, National Pig Research Centre, Assam for conservation of “Ghungroo” breed of Pig and All India Co-Ordinate Research Project (AICRP), Mannuthy, Kerala for conservation “Tellicherry” breed of poultry. 

Dr BP Mishra, Director ICAR-NBAGR   congratulated all the winners and emphasized the need for conservation of our native Breeds. Chief guest Dr Praveen Malik, commissioner, animal husbandry department, GOI, New Delhi in his presidential address correlated Prime Minister Narendra Modis vision of Vocal for Local with the conservation of our local breeds.  Special guest Dr V K Saxena Assistant Director General (Animal Production & Breeding), ICAR and Dr DK Sardana retired Principal scientist also addressed and congratulated all the winners.  The program was coordinated by Dr Anil Kumar Mishra Principal scientist ICAR-NBAGR.